Surigao del Sur Police Provincial Office


    The Surigao del Sur Police Provincial Office is located at Camp Vicente L. Pimentel, Sr., Telaje, Tandag City, Surigao del Sur. 

    At the helm of Surigao del Sur PPO is PSSUPT NARCISO BALISI VERDADERO, Acting Provincial Director. He is assisted by PSUPT DANIEL LANIOG PEUSCA as the Deputy Provincial Director for Administration (DPDA); PCINSP EDWIN CONTE NOGUERRA as the Deputy Provincial Director for Operations (DPDO); and PCINSP DOMINADOR AMBRAY PLAZA as the OIC, Company Commander of the Surigao del Sur Provincial Public Safety Company (SDS PPSC). SDSPPO has two (2) City Police Stations and seventeen (17) Municipal Police Stations with a Provincial Public Safety Company as its subordinate units.


    Surigao del Sur is the 56th province of the Republic of the Philippines and is located in the Northeastern coast of Mindanao, facing the Pacific Ocean. It is bounded on the Northwest by the Province of Surigao del Norte, on the Southeast by Davao Oriental, on its Eastern side by the Pacific Ocean, and on the West and Southwest by the Provinces of Agusan del Norte and Agusan del Sur, respectively. This strategic location enables the province to establish favorable economic linkages with other neighboring provinces. Surigao del Sur has 2 cities and 17 municipalities most of which are located in the coastal areas with Tandag as its capital. These municipalities are subdivided into 309 barangays and have two congressional districts.

    Before the Spaniards came, the aborigines of the province were the Mamanua and Manobo. Later, our Austronesian brothers from the Visayas came to settle with the natives. It was with the arrival of the immigrants that the province acquired its name from one of the natives, Saliagao, who lived near the mouth of the river. The name Saliagao was later pronounced Surigao by the inhabitants.

    The Province of Surigao del Sur was created as the 56th Philippine province on June 19, 1960 by virtue of RA 2786 and was formally organized or separated from its mother province, Surigao del Norte, on September 18, 1960.

    Originally the province had 13 municipalities. In subsequent years, six more were added raising the number to 19 with Tandag as the capital. Now, two of its municipalities have been elevated to cities; the first was Bislig City. In 2007 Tandag was granted cityhood but it was nullified via a controversial decision by the Supreme Court a year later. In 2009, Tandag would get back its city status after the SC reversed its own ruling on December 22, 2009.

    • Land Area

    The land Area of the province is 523,050 hectares or 5,230.50 sq. kilometers representing 27.75 percent of the total land area of Caraga Administrative Region and about 5.14 percent and 1.74 percent of the total land area of Mindanao and Philippines, respectively.

    • Climate and Rainfall

    The province falls under Type II of climate in the Philippines characterized by rainfall distributed throughout the year, although there is a distinct rainy season which begins from the month of November and ends in March. Months with low rainfall are from July to October with September as the driest month. Wet months are from November to June with January as the wettest month.